13 regions, 9 countries, a powerful Alliance to support the EU Chips Act

In the spirit of Silicon Europe, an alliance of European semiconductor regions was initiated last Monday in Brussels. 13 microelectronics regions from nine EU member states invited to a high-level event with representatives of EU institutions and industry to discuss the prospects of the European semiconductor ecosystem. In addition to an exciting panel discussion and many top-class guests, the European Commissioner for the Internal Market Thierry Breton was also present. The event culminated in the common signing of an MoU among the regions.

The aim of the alliance is to jointly strengthen growth and increase the competitive share of the European semiconductor industry through joint research & innovation, skills & talent development as well as cluster development & cooperation.  Members of the regional alliance are: Basque Country (ES), Bavaria (DE), Centro-Region (PT), Flanders (BE), Carinthia (AT), Catalonia (ES), North Brabant (NL) Overijssel (NL), Piedmont (IT), Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (FR), Saxony (DE), Styria (AT) and South Moravia (CZ). Further regions from the #SiliconEurope partner clusters will follow soon.

Profiles of participating regions

Silicon Europe Alliance strongly supports this initiative and its future actions.

It is vital for us to jointly support Europe’s semiconductor industry and strengthen its resilience. We are pleased that our efforts within the Silicon Eurocluster project have now also found resonance at the political level. With Silicon Eurocluster, we aim to achieve greater European self-sufficiency with increased competitiveness and resilience in the electronics value chain paying attention to SME.

We will launch an open call for proposals for microelectronics systems on 28 March 

Further info on the Silicon Eurocluster call

Thank you to the Silicon Europe representatives on site: Frank Bösenberg and Stefan Uhlig who supported the event’s organisation with Cristina Murillo (chairwoman of Silicon Europe) who moderated the MoU process as well as Kate Margetts and Ben van der Zon.